The vegan label

Stores or brands sometimes may label a shoe as vegan.

vegan label for shoes

When can shoes be called vegan? A vegan shoe is made without the use of animal products. This means that shoes don’t contain animal material: leather, fur, hair, bones, teeth, shells or other body part.

If you’re wondering: “my shoes are leather free, they are vegan!”

Many of us can be surprised to find out that shoes may be made using animal glue. It has been used for centuries. Glue from animals are made by boiling connective tissues, tendons, skin or bones from animals such as cows, horses, rabbits, fish and pigs.

If you purchase leather free shoes, they still may not be vegan-friendly.

Glue for shoes are usually vegan friendly

However, over the last fifty years, synthetic glues have far surpassed animal glues for effectiveness, low cost and consistency of quality. Whilst it is true that some shoe manufacturers still produce using animal glues, the majority of shoe glues used today is accidentally vegan.

If you don’t use leather shoes for hiking or if you don’t wear hiking boots made of crocodile skin and beautified with colored feathers… most probably you already have vegan outdoor shoes. Vegan label it is just marketing.

Good stuff, outdooreer, we love nature and we love animals!

Hiking shoes are mostly vegan
Picture copyright: outdooreer.com

Help us growing sharing this article: